Another 8 chemicals have been listed under REACH as Substances of Very High Concern, June 18, 2010: Trichloroethylene, Boric acid, Disodium tetraborate anhydrous, Tetraboron disodium heptaoxide hydrate, Sodium chromate, Potassium chromate, Ammonium dichromate, Potassium dichromate.

Also coming up is the decision on whether to add these ECHA-recommended chemicals  to Annex XIV that will ban uses unless they are Authorized: musk xylene, MDA, short chain chlorinated paraffins, HBCDD (Hexabromocyclododecane - flame retardants), phthalates DEHP, BBP, DBP.

ECHA is also requesting comments on restriction of lead in jewelry and dimethylfumerate as an antifoulant in consumer products.

Leave a reply